Home » Currently Reading:

NASSP Book Award

The North American Society for Social Philosophy sponsors a prestigious book award at each of its annual meetings.  Awardees are featured in a plenary session on their book, with comments from three presenters.  In addition, the prize comes with a beautiful plaque. 

NASSP Members and publishers are invited to nominate books using the form below.  Scroll down to see a list of previous winners!

Book Award Nomination
NASSP members are invited to nominate books the Annual Book Award given at the International Social Philosophy Conference. Eligible books must be published in the preceding year (e.g., the 2016 Award will be given to a book with a 2015 publication date).


Previous Award Winners

Book award for 2016 given at the 2017 meeting:

Tommie Shelby, Dark Ghettos: Injustice, Dissent, and Reform.  Harvard University Press, 2016.


Book award for 2015 given at the 2016 meeting:

Paul B. Thompson, From Fork to Field: Food Ethics for Everyone.  Oxford University Press, 2015.


Book award for 2014 given at the 2015 meeting:

Joseph Fishkin, Bottlenecks: A New Theory of Equal Opportunity. Oxford University Press, 2014


Book award for 2013 given at the 2014 meeting:

Meira Levinson,  No Citizen Left Behind.  Harvard University Press 2012.


Book award for 2012 given at the 2013 meeting:

Jose Medina, The Epistemology of Resistance: Gender and Racial Oppression, Epistemic Injustice, and Resistant Imaginations. Oxford University Press, 2012.


Book award for 2011 given at the 2012 meeting:

Ben Berger, Attention Deficit Democracy: The Paradox of Civic Engagement. Princeton University Press, 2011


Book award for 2010 given at the 2011 meeting:

Stephen Nathanson, Terrorism and the Ethics of War. Cambridge University Press, 2010


Book award for 2009 given at the 2010 meeting:

Amartya Sen, The Idea of Justice. Harvard University Press, 2009


Book award for 2008 given at the 2009 meeting:

G.A. Cohen, Rescuing Justice and Equality. Harvard University Press, 2008


Book award for 2007 given at the 2008 meeting:

Will Kymlicka, Multicultural Odsseys: Navigating the New International Politics of Diversity. Oxford University Press, 2007


Book award for 2006 given at the 2007 meeting:

Lucas Swaine, The Liberal Conscience: Politics and Principle in a World of Religious Pluralism. Columbia Universiy Press, 2006


Book award for 2005 given at the 2006 meeting:

Larry May, Crimes Against Humanity: A Normative Account. Cambridge University Press, 2005.


Book award for 2004 given at the 2005 meeting:

Seyla Benhabib, The Rights of Others: Aliens, Residents and Citizens. 2004


Book award for 2003 given at the 2004 meeting:

Susan Campbell, Relational Remembering: Rethinking the Memory Wars. Rowman & Littlefield, 2003.


Book award for 2002 given at the 2003 meeting:

Paul Weithman, Religion and the Obligations of Citizenship. Cambridge University Press, 2002.


Book award for 2001 given at the 2002 meeting:

Lawrence Blum, I’m Not a Racist But…The Moral Quandary of Race. Cornell University Press, 2001




Book award for 1999 given at the 2000 meeting:

Martha Nussbaum, Sex and Social Justice. Oxford University Press, 1999


Book award for 1998 given at the 1999 meeting:

James Sterba, Justice for Here and Now. Cambridge University Press, 1998





Book award for 1995 given at the 1996 meeting:

Joseph M. Schwartz, The Permanence of the Political: A Democratic Critique of the Radical Impulse to Transcend Politics. Princeton University Press, 1995





Book award for 1992 given at the 1993 meeting:

Stephen Toulmin, Cosmopolis. The Free Press, 1992


Book award for 1991 given at the 1992 meeting:

Ferdinand David Schoeman, Privacy and Social Freedom. Cambridge University Press, 1991









Call for Papers

CFA – 35th Annual International Social Philosophy Conference

Thirty-Fifth International Social Philosophy Conference Sponsored by the North American Society for Social Philosophy with the Department of Philosophy, Oakland University, Rochester, MI July 19-21, 2018 Proposals in all areas of social philosophy are welcome, but special attention will be devoted to: Health, Well-being, and Society Some possible paper topics …

Member Announcements

AMINTAPHIL 2018 Conference on Democracy, Populism, and Truth

AMINTAPHIL 2018 Conference on Democracy, Populism, and Truth August 16-19, 2018 Boston University, Boston, MA Due Date: June 30, 2018 We invite submissions for the 2018 biannual conference of the American Section of the International Association for Philosophy of Law and Social Philosophy (AMINTAPHIL) on the topic of Democracy, Populism, …


Joining the North American Society for Social Philosophy is easy!  Membership may be obtained through the Philosophy Documentation Center at https://www.pdcnet.org/nassp/North-American-Society-for-Social-Philosophy-(NASSP)

Social Philosophy Today Call for Submissions

CALL FOR PAPERS   Congratulations once again on your recent presentation at the 34th Annual International Social Philosophy Conference at Loyola University Chicago.  Papers presented at the conference are eligible for consideration for publication in Social Philosophy Today.   Although all the articles published in Social Philosophy Today are based on papers presented …


Animated Social Media Icons by Acurax Responsive Web Designing Company